Between

I’m categorizing this under “short shorts” or flash fiction because that’s how it appeared on the original site, but it feels like more of a poem to me.  “Between” by Nathan Alling Long tells the story of a child’s brief and awkward visits to his father behind bars. 

“From where I sat, Dad’s face fit just between the outer two bars, with one single bar between, so that if I wanted to look at both of his eyes, he had no nose, and if I wanted to see his nose, he lost one eye.  No matter how long I sat there looking at him, there was always something missing.”

You can view the entire piece here (look for the post dated 23.7.07).

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

