Falling for the Vietnamese Goddess of War

The poet, John Akins, is no stranger to the war of which he writes.  He says of himself:

“I was twenty, and I enlisted in the Marines and served as a rifleman in Viet Nam, beginning in Tet 1968…I was wounded and medevaced once. I was recommended for three medals and also recommended to be reduced in rank, the latter of which came about.”

His poem, “Food on a Plate” appears in the journal, Raven Chronicles Vol. 12, No. 2: “Obsessions.”

“I stand with two heaping paper plates in my hands —

my M-16 tucked under my arm.

Box cars screech through the air.

Red dirt and jagged metal blasts around me.”

Read the entire poem here, visit the Raven Chronicles homepage here, or check out Akins’ book (which explores how combat leads to an addiction to violence) titled “Nam Au Go Go, Falling for the Vietnamese Goddess of War,” here.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

