The Night is Darkening Round Me

This  classic poem by Emily Jane Bronte is called “The Night is Darkening Round Me”:

The night is darkening round me,
The wild winds coldly blow;
But a tyrant spell has bound me,
And I cannot, cannot go.

The giant trees are bending
Their bare boughs weighed with snow;
The storm is fast descending,
And yet I cannot go.

Clouds beyond clouds above me,
Wastes beyond wastes below;
But nothing drear can move me:
I will not, cannot go.

Author of Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre, Emily Jane Bronte lived to be just 30 years old when she died from a cold that developed into tuberculosis. Go to the Bronte Parsonage Museum and Bronte Society webpage to learn more about her life.  Go to oldpoetry.com to read more of her poems.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

