Short Stories, Endless Nightmares

MicroHorror is a collection of free, online, horror flash fiction by various authors.  Each story is no longer than 666 words.

You May Have Already Won by G.S. Riley scared the crap out of me, When I Get Angry by  Jason Dennis had me confused for a second but then chuckling at the end, and I’m Literally Bored to Death Over Here by Sean Ryan is one of the best microfiction stories I’ve read on- or offline.

You’d think writing a very short story would be easier than writing one of normal length, but that’s not true.  It’s extremely difficult to cram all the elements of a great story into just a few paragraphs and have the ending be satisfying to the reader.  But these three authors make it look like a piece of cake.

Check out their work (it will only take you a minute) or browse through the entire collection.

Here is an excerpt from When I Get Angry:

“They found her in her bed the next day. She had simply stopped breathing. I didn’t know it was me at the time. It wasn’t until much later that I made the connection.”

3 Comments

  1. Hey, there! I’m Nathan Rosen, the founder and editor of MicroHorror. Thanks very much for the mention; I’m happy to see you’re enjoying the site. Keep checking back for the latest and greatest in short-short horror!

  2. Hi, Nathan. You’ve got a great website there – good content and easy to navigate. I’ll definitely be back.

  3. Hi! I am the author of ‘You May Have Already Won’. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed that story and that Nathan chose to post it to his sight. Thanks for the mention!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

