Various and Sundry (Including More Goats)

First, I’d like to publicly acknowledge using Michael Arnzen as a guinea pig and thank him for being the very first guestblogger here at A Bunch of Wordz.  Each day, I look forward to reading his thoughtful and entertaining posts.  To be honest, I would have been grateful for even a post like, “Got up.  Ate some cocoa puffs.  Worked on my novel.”  But he continues to deliver articles which deliver insights into his life which remind me of what a truly skilled writer he is.  So, thank you, Michael.

And speaking of skilled writers, Brett Hursey sent me a signed copy of his book, Sign Language.  I love author-signed books, and I’m definitely into free stuff, so a big thank you to Brett.  (That’s Perk #2 for me, for anyone who’s counting.  Okay, I’m probably the only one who’s counting.)  Sign Language is a book of poetry, interspersed with quotes from famous people (“Once, during Prohibtion, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.” — W.C. Fields).  You can have your own copy for just $12.95 by clicking on the link above.

In other news, b5Media rejected both my blog ideas.  (Boohoo.)  The first idea was for a bridal blog, but they already had one on their site.  I didn’t see it because it was in a different category than I expected with a name I didn’t recognize as being connected to anything bridal.  So, that I can live with.  The other, a blog for the television show, Burn Notice, was rejected as well, but no reason was given.

They were very nice rejection notices, and one even said they would keep my information on file, but it did not mention whether that file was round or not.  I’m working on a couple of other ideas to pitch and have decided to submit something every week or so until they either invite me to work with them or they block my email address.

I cannot end this post without mentioning what Michael Arnzen has so appropriately termed my “goat fixation.”  LOL.  Since this site is aimed at readers, I rarely incorporate videos into it, but I stumbled across one that was just too good not to share.

It’s a news report about fainting goats (also known as myotonic goats, wooden-leg goats, stiff-leg goats, nervous goats, Tennessee goats, or Tennessee meat goats, as the goat rancher rattles off in a Bumba-Gump-like moment).  The goats don’t actually faint, but become immobile, which often causes them to fall over.  When startled, the animal’s muscles will stiffen for about 10 seconds.  This is caused by a hereditary condition known as myontonia congenita.  The goats aren’t harmed by it.

According to the Regalos de Dios Ranch website, the goats first appeared in Tennessee in the 1880s:

“The origin of the Fainting goat has been traced back to the 1880’s in Marshall County, Tennessee. A man by the name of Tinsley came to town bringing along a few goats and a “sacred” cow. He stayed long enough to marry a local woman, and to help a farmer with the harvest. He sold his goats to a man by the name of R. Goode and then departed the community. He took the cow with him, but alas for the poor wife, left her behind.”

View the fainting goat video here.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

