Scott Poole — Poet and Silly Man

Poet, Scott Poole, gives a terrific interview over at the literary journal, Slow Trains.  When asked “What is your writing routine like,” he replies:

“Well, first I drop into a cold sweat. Then I lie on the floor and wonder if I’m dying. Then I see if there is anything on television that I can steal. Of course, there never is. Then I sharpen a #2 Ticonderoga pencil and throw it into the swimming pool. After that I consider becoming a Barista or Phlebotomist. Then I panic again. Then I watch the movie Barfly, if I haven’t done so in the last month. Then I drink a six pack of Fat Tire ale and fall asleep under the living room rug. When I wake up hungover I do seven hundred jumping jacks and then prepare a meal out of nothing but extra virgin olive oil, leeks, and the latest issue of Sports illustrated. Then I eat a box of cookies and read a few lines out of The Old Man and the Sea: “I have seen lions on the beach…” Then I burst into tears and roll down the stairs. At this point I’m just about ready…”

This issue of Slow Trains features several poems by Poole, which are just as entertaining and off-the-wall as his interview answers.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

