After Thanksgiving Poem

This humorous poem is all over the internet, but no author is ever credited.  If you know who wrote this poem, let me know.  It’s called After Thanksgiving.

I ate too much Turkey, I ate too much corn,
I ate too much pudding and pie.
I’m stuffed up with muffins and too much stuffin’
I’m probably going to die.

I piled up my plate and I ate and I ate.
But I wish I had known when to stop,
For I’m so crammed with yams, sauces, gravies, and jams
That my buttons are starting to pop!

I’m full of tomatoes and french fried potatoes
My stomach is swollen and sore,
But there’s still some dessert so I guess it won’t hurt if
I eat just a little bit more!

Edit:  Thanks to reader, Pokey, for pointing out the origin of this poem.  The true name of the poem is I Ate Too Much, and it’s by Jack Prelutsky.

If you liked this post, you might also like this other funny Thanksgiving poem:  The Thanksgiving Toupee Souflee.

6 Comments

  1. Absolutely wonderful poem! It tells the whole truth about Thanksgiving… who doesn’t feel that way each year, right? Thanksgiving is basically the one time out of the year that you should stuff and stuff yourself with all you can get without having to feel bad about it! There’s always just a little more room…

  2. “There’s always just a little more room…” LOL, JennD – ain’t that the truth!

  3. I had to link this to today’s posting at Divaliscious – thanks for finding and posting it – if anyone needs a funny and hilarious look at how to make lump free mashed potatoes and gravy, stop on by! – Divaliscious – Gobble Gobble!

  4. […] you liked this post, you might also like this other funny Thanksgiving poem: After Thanksgiving Poem. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)After Thanksgiving PoemMitzvahs for […]

  5. I love this poem! Actually, the title is I Ate Too Much and the author is Jack Prelutsky. He has written many humorous poems with kids in mind (but adults enjoy them just as much!) This poem is a great example of his wonderful poems.

  6. Thanks, Pokey. I edited the post to reflect the author and true title.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

