Does Smoking Marijuana Make You Smarter?

According to an article regarding cannabis and the brain at the website, NORML:

“Preclinical data recently published in the Journal of Clinical Investigation demonstrating that cannabinoids may spur brain cell growth has reignited the international debate regarding the impact of marijuana on the brain…Researchers at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon found that the administration of synthetic cannabinoids in rats stimulated the proliferation of newborn neurons (nerve cells) in the hippocampus region of the brain and significantly reduced measures of anxiety and depression-like behavior.”

NORML’s tag line is “working to reform marijuana laws,” so their articles are going to admittedly not veer far from the message “marijuana is good for you.”

On the other hand, the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency webpage on marijuana states that habitual use of marijuana can lead to impairment of critical skills related to attention, memory, and learning.

So, who’s right?  Does pot destroy your brain or make it better?  There may be something to the University of Saskatchewan research, but if I have to judge by people I’ve known who are heavy pot smokers, I’d have to say it definitely didn’t make them smart.  Although they weren’t that bright to begin with, so my data may be skewed.

The only thing I do know for certain, is that you should never have Federal Express deliver your marijuana for you.

7 Comments

  1. [...] awhile, I’ll use those to inspire me to write.  That’s how I came up with the article Does Smoking Marijuana Make You Smarter?  It seems that marijuana is one of the most searched keywords in search engines like Google and [...]

  2. When I need to study for a big test I take the pressure off by smoking a joint, it actually relaxes me and helps me learn better.

  3. Yes it does, It made me smarter. I used to be a “conservative” and argued all the time about politics, then I started blazing regularly and it opened up my mind, let me see the whole system is bullshit nd now I just chill!!!!

  4. Politicians are 10 years behind the times when it comes to hemp use. People have been fighting for a long time against marijuana and pot prohibition with some movement going on now. Still too slow for those caught up in the jail system for possessing a little weed. Our freedoms have been trampled on by folks who know nothing about how beautiful cannabis can be for someones life, if one learns how to grow cannabis. Keep up the good work.

  5. i’ve been smoking for a bit now and its come to my recent concern that i have been extremely depressed but im still smoking. any suggestions how i can keep smoking but kill the depression? also on another note, marijuana has opened up my mind and has made me able to connect ideas and problems together as if its my job but on the downside i cant gather my words together fast enough and its making me feel as if i have psychosis since one of the symptoms is “unable to speak clearly”. can anyone enlighten this problem of mine?

    • That happens to me sometimes. You may need to be more active. Also your diet plays a large roll in mood. Get some relaxing exercise by walking more or just leaving the house. When I am feeling down I like to do new things that I have never done before. Depression usually means you are doing something wrong or just stuck in the same routine. Never rely on drugs to fix your depression because without finding and fixing the problem it will just keep coming back.

  6. I used to suffer from anxiety and ADD. I also used to get so depressed that I just didnt want to do anything anymore. I had suicidal thoughts and could never study in school. I would get irritable and violent and sometimes threaten to kill my teachers (no joke). I was extremely introverted, arrogant and selfish. I would do self destructive things and I thought (just like everyone else) marijuana was one of them. Then something amazing happened that I still cant wrap my head around. When I was high I listened more and took in information like a magnet. When I smoked I would research random things because thinking made me feel good. I started smoking every day and suddenly something “clicked”. I realized that I was becoming nice to be around. My atmosphere changed to a more peaceful one where I could concentrate on educating myself. I realized how I had been given false information about how it makes you stupid. If I stop smoking I start to slowly revert back to the way I was so I know it’s not just because I am more mature (This has been used as a counter argument way too often). As far as leading on to harder drugs this is total bullshit in my situation. I dont need any other drugs besides this and my use has been slowly tapering off. It makes me think clearly and rationally in situations of extreme duress. I am so happy to see an uprising of people like me who through self medication have learned to overcome their greatest obstacle, themselves. One day we will live in a world that accepts us as people and not drug addicts. These closed minded buffoons don’t realize that I have used it to start computer repair businesses and to help my father with his printing company. I think alot of the misconceptions about marijuana comes from the fact that stupid people are more likely to do something that people say is bad for them. You cant judge something by associating it with the people who like it. Fight the fight against ignorance and intolerance and of course …
    LEGALIZE IT!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.