One of My Bodily Organs is Gone

The most intense pain I’ve ever felt in my life awoke me at midnight on Tuesday night/Wednesday morning. What ensued can only be described as a vomitathon, and by 2:00 am, my husband was asking me if I wanted to go to the hospital.  I refused, thinking it had to be over soon.  

By 4:00 am, with no relief from the pain or the marathon of vomiting, I agreed to be taken to E.R., where I sat in the waiting room, crying in pain and hobbling back and forth to the restroom to barf my guts out.  The nurse didn’t see me until I’d been there for about a half hour, asked me some questions, then sent me back to the waiting room!!  The waiting room was empty, by the way, except for 1 mentally ill guy who alternated between mimicking my cries of pain and randomly shouting out things like “mentally ill!”

(Yes, we know.)

By about 5:30 I finally got a bed, by 10:00 I’d been diagnosed with gallstones and an infected gallbladder and scheduled for surgery, and by 2:00 pm, I was on the operating table.

So my week has been kind of rough.  I’m just glad it was something straight-forward and that I got the surgery I needed right away.  I’m at home undergoing a slow recovery now.  I usually don’t like to use medication, not even aspirin when I have a headache, but let me tell you, morphine and darvocet are my new best friends.

So, just to be weird (and perhaps because I’m high), I decided to google the keywords gallbladder and poetry together.  To my surprise, I got some hits.  Like this poem called Ode to my Gall Bladder by BJ Swartz:

Little organ holding bile,
Since you have become so vile,
Causing me to ache and pout,
I am going to put you out!

You can read the entire poem at the link above.  There is even a book from another author called Gallbaldder Poetry listed on amazon.com, but it is currently out of stock.  (Oh darn.)

2 Comments

  1. So sorry to hear about your gall bladder, so amazed and smiling to see you wanted to google “gall bladder” and “poetry.” This is exactly how we get through these trials, with a sense of humor. Hopefully your recovery will be swift.

  2. Thanks for your kind words, Gay. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

