Flash Fiction: Dani-Girl’s Guide to Getting Everything Right

Author, Gay Degani, has a great flash fiction story out called Dani-Girl’s Guide to Getting Everything Right.  This short short story starts out:

The minute the nose of my Honda Civic points north on the 5, my hands begin to sweat, my breath goes shallow, and somewhere down in my lower intestinal tract I feel a rumbling similar to distant thunder, just not as pleasant. Don’t Go Home is the first cardinal rule in Dani-Girl’s Guide to Getting Everything Right, and after a lifetime in Lomita with my German-Irish father, Rule 1 is easy to follow. After all, most of our communications begin with him grumbling, “Can’t you get anything right?”

Read this entire flash fiction story at Flash Fiction Online, a flash fiction online literary magazine, or read more short fiction at the Flash Fiction Online homepage.  You can also visit Gay Degani’s homepage or buy one of Gay Degani’s books at amazon.com.

I love it when I discover talented authors previously unknown to me, and I’m definitely going to be keeping an eye on this one and looking for more of her stuff to read.

2 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for you kind words. What a thrill to be mentioned in someone else’s blog! Writing flash fiction has been a revelation to me. It’s offered me the opportunity to put my name out to a broader base of readers and to hone my skills. The word-count limit forces me to study every word, make certain each paragraph serves a purpose, to double check sequencing, and to read the whole out loud numerous times to get things as good as I can. The length also appeals to a larger audience because most stories can be read in four minutes or less, on a lunch break, or while waiting for the dentist to crook a finger at you. These factors, and the hard work of editors like Jake Freivald at Flash Fiction Online which published Dani-Girl or Jordan Lapp at Every Day Fiction, I’ve had the privilege of launching what I hope will be a long and worth-while career.

  2. […] For more information on author and Pushcart Prize Nominee, Gay Degani, see this previous post. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment